Life Members

VAFAUA Life Members

Life Membership is one of the highest honours that can be bestowed on a member. We are exceptionally proud of our Life Members, all of whom have contributed to improving umpiring, and the Association, in a significant way.

In 2018 we inducted two new life members into the Association.

Lionel Katz

‘Katzy’ is a well-loved member of the Association, and a fine example to us all. In his more than 20 years with the Umpires Association he has regularly gone above and beyond to make us a friendly place, including by welcoming new members (and recruiting many more!).

He spent many a week-night assisting younger members as a tribunal advocate, and for the last 4 years has served as dinner co-ordinator.

Gregory Rolfe

Greg joined the VAFAUA in 2010, and immediately threw himself into Association life. He served as Social Secretary, then Vice President (2014) before serving as President in 2015 and 2016, and Immediate Past President in 2017 and 2018. Beyond the responsibilities of those roles he frequently goes above and beyond to welcome new members, work in the kitchen and bar, and cook the monthly BBQ.

Both of these Gentlemen epitomise what it means to be a member of the VAFAUA, and we congratulate both for their recognition as Life Members

2018 Life Member Inductees Gregory Rolfe & Lionel Katz
Life Member Inductees
H. CoombsJ. FoxNorm SharpWilliam AhlmE. HackingRoy Kingston
Les WenkerRichard LeeDes MooneyR. HallidayHec RobertsHarry Nance
Norm SutherlandMax BarkerSam BirtlesDon AmeyJim CooperBruce Morris
Alan DuckworthKevin McKayJohn HintonNeil PearsonIan MarsdenHarry Marks
D. MalcolmPat LoyLeo BohanD. BrownWilliam MasonRon Saunders
Ralph BridgesDon DoddsJohn PosettiLance WilliamsGraeme SimpsonBrian Nichols
Jim PetersAlan BishopKen JorgensenPeter FeilDaryl HillTrevor Rowe
Phillip RowellDavid HindleColin WillsR. CogdenRobert DunstanBrian Goodman
Don HillierPeter KingDon McKenzieRichard TraceyMichael WoodruffMike Murray
Peter WisemanRon LippoldWayne HenryEdward KeatingKen CoughlanPat Maebus
John SmothRussell FrancisKevin SegotaAndrew BelcherPeter HarrisSteve McCarthy
Robert BellPeter KeoghStephen HopperGeoffrey RiddMark BushfieldRichard Simon
Graeme ThwaitesWayne HintonRichard EastwoodJustin TooheyJohn KellyMark Gibson
Ken WalkerMark JenkinsLeah GallagherAndrea ThwaitesAnthony DamenGeoff Curran
Peter SimpsonBernie JephsonVin VescoviBernie HoareAnthony SimpsonPaul Jones
John RobinsonDavid D’AlteraMichael FordeMichael GildayRon MartynAndrew Rechtman
Bob SeymourAlan StubbsRob MaystonTim SutcliffeCraig BrajtbergDarren Dalgleish
Brian WoodheadBrendan CorcoranRussell DavidsonDominic NapoliGrand WardropPaul Tuppen
David WindlowSanto CarusoSimon StokesMervyn MontyDaniel SilfoLionel Katz
Gregory Rolfe