← Past Awards & Appointments

Umpire of the Year & Most Promising Umpire Awards

Umpire of the Year is presented by the VAFA to an umpire who consistently shows a high level of umpiring ability, has feel for the game, a good rapport with clubs, and shows a commitment to the umpiring group.

Most Promising Umpire is presented by the VAFA to a young umpire in the early stages of their development who has shown the commitment to umpiring and willingness to learn that is required to progress to a higher level.

Field Umpiring Discipline Lead Owen Hinson with 2023 Most Promising Umpire Jack Seymour and 2023 Umpire of the Year Michael Gough
YearUmpire of the YearMost Promising Umpire
2023Michael GoughJack Seymour
2022Campbell HymansJonathan Clark
2021Daniel SilfoCampbell Hymans
2020Not awardedNot awarded
2019Matthew OakleyOliver Murray
2018Matthew OakleyJackson Gillespie
2017Haydn O'ConnorBenjamin Traplin
2016Matthew OakleyGeorge Wood
2015Daniel SilfoPeter Bailes
2014Russell DavidsonSamuel Levin
2013Mervyn MontyOliver Bell
2012Matthew PryorBen Nicholson
2011Luke HolmesJayde Daly
2010Grant WardropMatthew Pryor
2009Shane MackintoshJarryd Barry
2008Luke HolmesDaniel Lawler
2007Tim SutcliffeThomas Windlow
2006Russell DavidsonTim Saunders
2005Leah GallagherRobert O'Gorman
2004Stephen McCarthyBenjamin Ryde
2003Tim Sutcliffe
2002Mark Gibson
2001Mark Gibson
2000Mark Gibson