← Past Awards & Appointments

Ryan Robertson Young Achiever & Best First Year Umpire Awards

The Young Achiever award was renamed in 2021 after VAFAUA Life Member Ryan Robertson. The Ryan Robertson Young Achiever award is presented to an umpire under the age of 20 who regularly attends training and association meetings, shows improvement throughout the year, and mixes well with the umpiring group.

The Best First Year Umpire award is presented to an umpire who has natural umpiring ability, a desire to learn, and a commitment to the umpiring group.

2023 Ryan Robertson Young Achiever Award Winners Tom Masters (Inner Left) and Tim Wood (Inner Right) with 2022 Winner Angus Bunker Smith (Right) and Head of Development Guy Hexter (Left)
YearYoung AchieverBest First Year Umpire
2023Tom Masters and Tim WoodWoody Wanless, Dale Nathan & Sullivan Hendrickson
2022Angus Bunker-SmithPatrick Sexton, Kalani Lang & Charlie Rankins
2021Jonathan ClarkJordan Gibson & Harrison Gillespie
2020Not awardedNot awarded
2019Lachlan ClancySam Scott
2018Patrick MathewsVo Schofield
2017Raushaan SeychellPeter Kotsaridis & Tom O'Connor
2016Adrian PretoriusJames Bett
2015Hamish McCartneyLogan Webster
2014Alanah FrenchJack Punshon
2013Eliot FabrisAsha Hinton
2012Nathan MortonBen La Vale & Leigh Saunders
2011Kit HarveyJosh Prince
2010Mitsuo NireJarron Fisher
2009Jaryd BarryTony Hope
2008Jayde DalyNot Awarded
2007James ScullyNot Awarded
2006Alexandria AnthonyMichael Hegan
2005Shane Mackintosh
2004Peter Angelis
2003Peter Liddell